HOW TO BEAT LATE NIGHT, OFF/ON DUTY DIET OOPSIES

HAVE A PLAN.

So this goes for your “cheat days” (if you engage in cheat days) AND when you’re feeling the urge to be naughty. If you are aware that you’re naughty, you are one step there!!

How do you set up a plan? 1) Know yourself. WHEN are you naughty? AFTER a shift? ON a shift? Days OFF? When you’re feeling bored?

1) Know yourself. WHEN are you naughty? AFTER a shift? ON a shift? Days OFF? When you’re feeling bored?

2) Know your taste preferences when you’re craving. Salty? Sour? Sweet? Also…. texture: creamy, crunchy?

3) KNOW THE RULES.

*Which are different for everyone. If a particular food doesn’t agree with you, don’t eat it! No matter how “good” it supposedly is.

*Try your hardest to avoid additives:

-Preservatives. Hormones. Dyes.

*Meat including bacon, eggs, everything: get it as clean as possible. My bacon is preservative, etc free. My (Spectrum) mayo is too.

*Before you’re like: “Fat is bad,” know some biochemistry & physiology. Your hormones and so so much come from your healthy fats… you eat less with fats…. you need fat to absorb protein…

*Too much sugar IS bad.

And it’s everywhere. So yeah, watch that white sugar but eat your carrots and green beans if you wish.


So try your hardest to abide by THE RULES.


I’m drawn to salty protein foods. I like meat & I like my sea salt. This girl could never become a vegetarian but I DO LOVE my vegetables. I also like crunchy. Some creamy is good (but with salt) and I like it HOT.

Now while I can’t get into a lot of trouble because I’m celiac, with numerous food allergies (thank you, leaky gut, yeah, that’s nasty)…. what I’m saying is, there’s loads I MUST avoid or else, become very ill. That bakery display at Starbucks is not appetizing to me whatsoever, or any dessert cart. All I’m thinking of is how much I will swell & O2 I will require.

I’m also anorexic….and why should this matter? Well, I’m smart about food. I’ve got willpower & discipline up the ying-yang. And I’m going to show you how a (recovering) anorexic does it.1) I keep foods around that I’ll -always- love: Butternut squash (probably I do have a sweet tooth that I’m automatically satisfying). I’ll add mayo to that, maybe some mayo or flaxseeds. It’s extremely healthy and takes care of my natural cravings. GO WITH your cravings….

1) I keep foods around that I’ll -always- love: Butternut squash (probably I do have a sweet tooth that I’m automatically satisfying). I’ll add mayo to that, maybe some mayo or flaxseeds. It’s extremely healthy and takes care of my natural cravings. GO WITH your cravings….

Butternut squash (probably I do have a sweet tooth that I’m automatically satisfying). I’ll add mayo to that, maybe some mayo or flaxseeds. It’s extremely healthy and takes care of my natural cravings. GO WITH your cravings….

Cans of garbanzo beans: I bake them in an oven, add sea salt & all kinds of spices. Favorites: garlic, cumin, red pepper, coriander. –I’m satisfying my crunchy & salty protein cravings.

Romaine lettuce, spinach: for salads. Again, the crunch factor…. & I LOVE olive oil so there’s my dressing with rice vinegar & yes, seal salt. I’ll mix in some salsa too.

Granny smith apples: I also like sour. & I salt them.

Spicy mustard: Just discovered mustard with jalapeno…. YUMM.

Cucumbers & radish: Again, I love these with olive oil, rice or coconut vinegar, sea salt, cumin, etc.

So you get the idea….

**Think about WHY you like the BigMac or whatever you’re eating. Is it the FAT? That’s okay…. go with fat then. Is it the convenience? Okay, we’ll get to that.

2) Be patient with yourself but keep at it:

While you’re trying to replace bad eating with good eating 🙂 —> you could be like, no, no chichi beans, crazy person! Just keep doing it, keep with your plan…. because eventually, you WILL start to PREFER your healthier eating options.

** “THEY” say that being well hydrated helps with sweet cravings. THEY say that drinking a glass of cold water when you have a sweet craving curbs that craving…. Try it. Keep this in mind too!

3) Convenience.

Again…..preparation. What happens when your day is sucking & you’re hungry…. food makes us feel better. It takes care of hunger pains. We NEED food. For energy. We have so much emotionally attached to FOOD.

This sounds ironic as hell an anorexic saying this but:

Nothing makes me happier than sitting at night late watching a program and majorly pigging out. I feel INSTANTLY calm.

If you handed me a bowl of… I don’t know ….. corn, I’d make a disgusted face. I don’t like corn. It’s OKAY if there’s a little bit in a mixed frozen veggie mix like what I had yesterday but corn soup isn’t something you’ll see me enjoying. So make your changes gradually ….. and ATTACH positive feelings with those.

HOW DO I DO THAT?!

Again, take it from an anorexic:

You KNOW deep down inside that your BigMacs aren’t good for you just as I know that living on celery isn’t good for me. Appeal to the sane part of your brain and make it bigger. Keep telling yourself that the meals that you’ve prepared in advance (beef or buffalo burgers you’ve grilled up and frozen/refrigerated with some awesome veggies & all those good fats…. is what you NEED and IS WHAT’S GOOD FOR YOU.

Brainwash yourself. (We do this all the time….) It’s better to do this with truth and science. Eventually, you will BELIEVE yourself…. changes will occur and you will BE IN LOVE with your new healthy changes 🙂

I promise.

You WILL develop positive emotional connections to the healthier foods. Just continue to brainwash yourself there….


———–CONVENIENCE FACTOR———–

Would it be NICE if we had someone at home (a spouse) who could prep our meals for us? Omg, so nice. Would be extra nice for the LEO. But many of you do not have this …

So, make food in LARGE quantities. Don’t bake yourself ONE potato, bake SEVERAL. Hard-boil SEVERAL eggs at a time. Bake those garbanzos. Make trail mix. (You CAN eat oatmeal without cooking it, bring a thermo of your milk). Nuts. Raisins. Fresh fruit. Salads that you’ve prepared.


If you have a food that you just can’t portion yourself with (not binge on):

Don’t go near it. Don’t bring it into your home or car. Don’t go near it at the store.

ICE CREAM

Really, isn’t bad if you’re avoiding those preservatives, etc. I can’t suggest which brands are good :S…. you’re talking to a dairy/soy-allergic who has a dairy-allergic kid.

But if you eat the entire container…. well, not so good…. so for a time, if you’re unable to control yourself, then don’t have it around you. That’s okay. Some people are able to eat their binge food in moderation at some point, some aren’t.

ANOTHER way people have done it: They get ice cream in a dish during season at a stall…. 1-2 days a week and they decide which days those will be. You’re getting your fix & it’s limited. You don’t have an entire container in your freezer.

Good nutrition doesn’t have to be an all or nothing thing….

There ARE a few things that you could do without completely: Soda. But we’ll stop here for now 🙂

Leave a Reply

